LegacyGT.com

2.5i Transmission Fluid- Flush or Drain/Fill?

I bought a used fleet 2009 2.5i SE not too long ago (yup took the risk) and the car has been amazing for me… so far. However, I'm at about 53k Miles and want to do a really early 60k service for who knows if or when it was last maintained. I have access to full lift located on base.

I have a couple questions.

1) What is the stock fluid that comes in the 4EAT tranny? Is the ATF-HP and is that synthetic or conventional?

2) I want to go with AMSOIL Multi-Vehicle ATF but should I do a flush to get all the old stuff out? Cause the way I see it is, whats the point of going synthetic if you're not going to harness the full benefits. I don't mind going with the Subaru ATF-HP stuff, AMSOIL just appealed to me.

3) What would be the simplest, cheapest, SAFEST way to do a flush (I'm a beginner but learn quick)?

Safest way would be to do a drain/refill several times.

Current: 16 Crosstrek Premium w/ Eyesight & 05 Outback XT 5MT

Past Subies: 14 FXT Premium, 14 WRX hatch, 06 Legacy 2.5i SE 5MT, 98 Outback wagon

I went to a shop to do a Amsoil Flush. They charged me around $230 (including fluid) which I found reasonable since 13 bottles of Amsoil would be about $190. The $230 saved me the time of doing it myself and getting dirty, and I know most of the oem fluid came out

5eat downshift rev match:):wub:

Powder coated wheels: completed:)

I went to a shop to do a Amsoil Flush. They charged me around $230 (including fluid) which I found reasonable since 13 bottles of Amsoil would be about $190. The $230 saved me the time of doing it myself and getting dirty, and I know most of the oem fluid came out

Isn't that too much? According to AMSOIL, MSRP for 3 Gallons is $135.60 for the Multi-Vehicle ATF.

Also, do you know which method they used to do the flush?

I used quarts comparison at the time not gallons, you need anywhere from 13-15 quarts for a flush. ~$13.50/quart