LegacyGT.com

Catalytic Converter Replacement Help.

Howdy,

In a few weeks I'm making time to replace my catalytic converters. This is my first time doing this job. I'm looking for some pointers:

A. What should I assess and determine prior to purchasing the new catalytic converters? ... What should I look for on the old system and where it is connected to the rest of the car in order to determine what I will need to do the job?

B. I need to replace both catalytic converters and would like to spend the least amount of money possible. I would like to keep my spending in the realm of $300.00. From my online research this seems a bit tricky.

C. What should I look out for while I am doing the job?

Any help that can be offered would be most appreciated.

Thank you.

• Moderators

On your car it should really just involve dropping the old pipe and installing something to replace--OEM or aftermarket, and folks will have different opinions of both. OEM is probably best but will certainly be expensive.

Why do you say that your converters are bad?

"Bullet-proof" your OEM TMIC! <<Buy your kit here>>

Not currently in stock :(

I had this issue months back, my thread and sound clip: http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/engine-rattle-216473.html?t=216473&highlight=engine+rattle

Mechanic thought it was the down pipe catts going out, it ended up being my up pipe gasket had separated and was causing the crazy rattle. Many idea's as to what it could be in this thread GL, I hate weird sounds. Generally the catalytic converters should last 100-120k plus+. How many miles on your car?

If it is the DP try and find a used one like this:http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/fs-sofla-05-lgt-stock-exhaust-aftermarket-axel-backs-and-219897.html?t=219897&highlight=fs+oem+pipe hopefully low mileage.

Howdy,

In a few weeks I'm making time to replace my catalytic converters. This is my first time doing this job. I'm looking for some pointers: