LegacyGT.com

New to Subaru

DustyHell

Hey everyone. I’m new to Subaru and to turbo engines. I have owed a few 240sx Nissans, and am selling my current 240 because my wife and I recently bought a 2005 Legacy GT Limited.

My question is regarding intake and exhaust. We bought the car with what appears to be header back exhaust and SPT intake. Should I have concerns about these two mods as far as the car running properly? To me the car runs great, but I know turbo engines can be tricky, so I just want to make sure all is well. If not, obviously I would like to change it.

I’m not looking for more power, just a reliable car for my wife.

Thanks,

Dustin

With just exhaust you won't run into that much issue running un-tuned, but you won't be using the new parts to their full extent.

A new intake can screw up MAF sensor readings and cause your car to run lean which is not good for the engine at all.

You need to look into a COBB Access Port, thats what AP stands for. Look through vendors and you should find them all about $695, private classifieds normally go for less though.

So at the least I should get rid of the intake? I don't really feal the need to spend $695 on more performance, when I could just downgrade. I know that's weird to want to downgrade, but I'm just not in the spot to be throwing a bunch of money at this car. Id rather it be stock. Thank you all for the comments.

Dustin

I just looked, and it seems to be a catback. The cat is molded with about a 2' long pipe that runs just to underneath the engine? The cel light does not come on while im driving? I did a search to see If I could check the cel codes, but I guess I cant do it myself because I have an 05...is that right?

Dustin