LegacyGT.com

All season's or Summers?

snow05gtRI

I popped a RE92 in December so I bought a set of winter tires (Blizzak WS60, only ones I could find in dire need of a tire) ... so now I have to switch to summers or all seasons this year. I figure on a normal rotation I'll be putting the Summer tire on in April-ish and swapping for winter in Oct-Nov. I live in New England so weather can get crappy at random times.

I'm sorta looking at the Bridgestone RE960AS Pole Position as the All Season, and the Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1 Star Spec as the Summer. I want something that is going to last me at least 2 to the greater part of 3 seasons (probably putting roughly 1k to 2k miles per month on them).

There's also the question of 225 vs. 215...I live around Boston with the potholes, but I'm going to lower my car with pinks/bilsteins (in a week or two) so I don't know if the 225 sidewall is too tall for that drop.

I appreciate any help that is offered....I am a tire newbie, and admittedly suck at using the search feature on here.

225 or 215 is the tire width...if you're worried about potholes you'd probably do well with a 45 sidewall. Are you running 17 or 18 inch wheels? 45s might be too tall for 18s with a drop. You might have to go with 40s but you'll have less rim protection from the potholes.

I just put on the RE960AS so I don't have a lot of experience with them, but so far they are great in the rain and dry.

I had the RE960's on my forester and have them in 225/45 on my LGT. They are great all season tires. Great grip and handling in wet and dry conditions. My only complaint with them is if the car sits for a day or two, they tend to flat spot quickly.

If you have bad winters, a dedicated winter tire would be much better than these for snow/ice traction. Here in VA, we got "snow" like 3 times this winter, so I run them year 'round.