LegacyGT.com

My timing belt story

So I have had a legacy gt turbo for almost two years. I have read many things on this forum that helped me. I needed a timing belt changed, so i found Fred beans parts on here and ordered the timing belt kit. Now Subaru recommends you change it at 105,000 miles or 169,000 kilometers. I'm in Canada we use kilometers. i didn't have the money so i had to wait. Finally got the money together and bought the parts from Fred beans. They were stuck in Canada customs for 3 weeks :icon_frow. Finally got the parts this week and got my mechanic to do the work, Now car runs good

Reason for this post is my mileage> As i said i didnt have the funds to fix the car. My mileage was 177,000 km or 110,000 miles. SO Subaru recommend intervals should be taken with a grain of salt. As my car was still running and im a daily driver. I'm not saying you should not listen to recommended maintenance intervals but my back was against the wall and i had no choice(funds weren't available). My little legacy survived. I love fred beans parts the kit even my mechanic commented saying thats how you should do a timing belt when you do it. I ordered the kit that included the water pump. You might as well its like 5 bucks extra. Do the gears, idler tensioner, timing belt, water pump completed.

took a pic of my mileage to prove what im saying.

I have a 2005 legacy gt turbo.

just sharing for the benefit of the owners on this forum:)

IMG00034-20110407-2125.thumb.jpg.a5b49822297484da03d24f8ef20315d1.jpg

Well - it's not like the belt is designed to go "snap" after 105k miles, it will hold longer than that so your extension of the lifetime didn't put you in any immediate danger.

It's more important to change oil because bad oil can be a real killer.

453747.png

I have a while to go. I only have 57k mi on my '05. Does changing the belt only go by miles or by time?
Racer X FMIC for '05-'09 LGTs, '08+ WRX and '10+ LGT,'14+ FXT, and '15+ WRX TMIC Racerxengineering.com