LegacyGT.com

Uppipe/downpipe/exhuast

DW1324

I'm a noob here. I have some questions about uppipes, downpipes and exhaust. I've searched the fourm's but have had a hard time locating the info, at least something that makes sense to me. I have a completely stock 2008 Subaru Legacy GT 5mt. I want to install all of the above.

So far from what little I know, I have chosen a magnaflow cbe, a hks uppipe, and the ERZ catted downpipe. Is that a good setup? Is there any quality issues with those choices? Would I fail emissions? What kind of gaskets would I have to replace? Is this a project I could do my self without a lift? Sorry I suck at this game hopefully you guys can help.

Thanks.

i do not own any of those parts but you are overpaying for an up pipe. there are other options that are far less expensive.

Will you pass emissions, yes you should.

I got the Grimmspeed 22% thicker gaskets for all necessary gaskets. They sell a kit that has everything u need.

Yes you can do it by yourself if you have basic tools, pb blaster, jack stands and a weekend to do it. If it is you first time ever wrenching, research on here for walk throughs and plan how you want to attack it. Label all your bolts/nuts so they go back where they are supposed to.

GET A TUNE AFTER thats the most important part otherwise your car will run like crap

Read, enjoy:

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/unofficial-legacy-gt-stage-upgrade-definitions-48123.html

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/begin-modifications-your-legacy-gt-19037.html

And as sacto said, you don't need an UP. But with a DP you WILL need a tune. Either an AccessPort, or a Tactrix cable and custom opensource tune.

You don't NEED a catback either. Not really a restriction until you start making huge power. Only reason you would get it right now is for added noise.