LegacyGT.com

Future Suspension Upgrades

UCDlgt

By beginning of August I will have a 06 LGT :). I'm going to be pretty limited on money and don't want to mess with my warranty so, with what I've got, I'm probably going to be modding my suspension. I'm thinking of starting with some new springs (want the pinks) and sway bars. I've come to believe, from reading the forums, thats the way to go (correct me if I'm wrong).

That being said, I will be doing a lot of snowy driving during the winter and I want to make sure that the sways and other potential suspension upgrades (apart from springs, struts) don't negatively effect this type of driving.

p.s. I am a noob when it comes to the mechanics of driving, etc. :confused:

If you want to accelerate, brake and handle better as well as have great traction in all conditions, get some snow tires for your stock wheels and get a new set of wheels with some high performance summer or A/S tires.

After you have the tires nailed down then swaybars will probably be your best bang for the buck.

Yah, sorry forgot to mention that I'd be buying snow tires. But even with snow tires, sways won't negatively effect snowy driving? I had heard stories about sways (I guess that were too thick) screwing with handling in the snow..

Yah, sorry forgot to mention that I'd be buying snow tires. But even with snow tires, sways won't negatively effect snowy driving? I had heard stories about sways (I guess that were too thick) screwing with handling in the snow..

Oh, absolutely... increasing the rear swaybar stiffness will improve (dry) traction, up to a point. Once you cross that point you are reducing your overall traction, and making your car more prone to oversteer, which is much scarier than understeer in normal driving.

If you read some of my recent posts you will see that I have modded everything in my suspension except for the swaybars (intentionally).