LegacyGT.com

Turbo talk/advice

So I need a new turbo.I have a 2005 Subaru Legacy GT and $600 cash and am debating on a stock turbo or a used aftermarket one.If I go aftermarket I was going to swoop up a Cobb tuner also from the PayPal credit line they offer.Can someone lead me in the right direction.Im very new to this stuff and need advice on what to do thanks

• I Donated Too
what has happened where you need a new turbo... please tell us how the original turbo failed. There may be much more to this than just replacing the turbo I am afraid to tell you. Not news you may want to hear but... lets start with you letting us know how the other turbo failed and hope you got to it before anything happened, maybe you found a wobbly shaft?

I'd avoid driving the car for the time being but it's good news that the turbo hasn't failed yet. It will if you keep driving it though. The danger sigmafour was alluding to is that when the turbo fails small metal fragments typically enter the oil system and it's quite common for that to take out the entire engine as well. Having all that done at a shop will cost you about as much as a whole other used Legacy GT (not an exaggeration).

You should be able to have your original turbo rebuilt. I purchased a used turbo and had Mike at Tuning Alliance rebuild it for a very fair price. You'd have to ship it there and wait for it to come back. Obviously you can't really drive your car the way it is now regardless but the sooner you get the turbo rebuilt the sooner you're on the road again. Perhaps there's a good local place to you who can rebuild the turbo?

If you tell us what area you're in, maybe someone will suggest a good place.

I'm in a auto class so I'm able to install it there as I have access to anything I could possibly need.This really stinks since I just got done installing a fresh clutch maybe 1500 miles ago so I havnt even had it back to long.Im located in the Bay Area if anyone has any suggestions.