LegacyGT.com

Duty C Solenoid or Clutch Pack Failure

Symptoms:

1. Torque binding when turning

2. Lower than normal fuel economy

3. Lurching when I shut off the engine

Diagnostic Procedure:

1. I installed the 4EAT differential lock switch, and the switch does nothing. That was pretty frustrating. :(

2. I installed the FWD fuse to test, the light showed up on the dash, I drove in tight circles, and I still got torque binding.

Unexplained:

1. The AT OIL TEMP light does not flash or remain on.

My Questions:

1. Is my diagnosis of a failed Duty C Solenoid correct?

2. What would a DIY repair job of the solenoid and clutch pack entail in terms of parts, cost, and time? What would a dealer charge?

3. What is the time-frame, probability, and mechanic result of failure of the clutch pack?

• I Donated

I'm not a transmission expert, but I might be able to lend a little bit of advise.

You did do normal diagnostics for the Duty C Solenoid. However, if the FWD fuse doesn't seem to get rid of the problem, I would look at two things.

Center Diff Failure (clutch pack)

If this is the case, you're probably best sourcing a new transmission. I don't know how the Subaru market is around you for used parts, but here locally I can usually pick up a 4EAT for anywhere between $200 - $400 with reasonable mileage on it.

Sourcing new parts for it will get pretty expensive....and outside of OEM parts, you may have trouble finding them. If you wanted to go this route, some years of the Nissan Pathfinder use the 4EAT with a modified bellhousing. I don't know if their 4wd models use the same center diff that we do, or if they use a normal transfer case. Could be something for you to look into.

Rear Diff Failure

Again, it would likely be cheaper just to find a used rear diff. One quick check you can do is jack up the rear of the car. Spin one of the rear tires. Feel / listen for any grinding. Make sure the tire on the other side is spinning in the opposite direction.