LegacyGT.com

Things I learned buying a used Subaru this weekend

ryu_haneda

Hey all!

Recently picked up a Subaru from a used car dealer this weekend. The car looks great (I honestly think I got a nicely-treated ride). I drove it back up to PA from south Jersey for about 3+ hours on Saturday. When I pulled in to see my family back in Penn, when I stopped the car, smoke started seeping out of the hood.

Fortunately enough, my dad-in-law knows his way around cars (he used to dirt track race) and was able to pinpoint a leak problem. I confirmed this yesterday, when I brought it by my local garage shop. The main dude there told me that the valve gaskets are leaking slightly, but the bigger problem has something to do with the timing seal which is apparently just above the engine bay (sorry, something like that - I'm still a noob when it comes to knowing the engine).

Very valuable lesson I learned this weekend: do not rush when you are reading documentation you are about to sign, and when you test drive a car, test drive it like you would own it - I made the mistake of not really checking it out fully.

I apparently signed away dealership responsibility for repairs, and also got a complimentary warranty which did not cover wear and tear (but to be fair, I was already going to buy extended used car warranty coverage elsewhere, so I just got complimentary insurance).

However, even though they did not have to do anything to compensate me (even if I would have bought an extended warranty, I dunno if the warranty would have covered a repair so quickly), when I called the dealership and spoke to the guy that sold me the car, he went and talked to his supervisor, and the supervisor actually agreed to send me money for the repair itself.