LegacyGT.com

Advice - Options when buying a Subaru Legacy GT

john_rt

Hi Guys,

bit of a newbie here so more info the better.

I'm importing a Subaru Legacy GT from the States to Canada. Have read all the rules and info from everywhere so am okay on the process.

My question revolves around what options I should ask my dealer to install. (I don't want to do any serious upgrades as I don't have much $$ and I also don't want any hassle when I bring it over the border.) I just want to know the simple upgrades that are suggested from a value perspective.

For example,

should I purchase the Short Throw Shifter ($243), metal pedal set, moonroof air reflector, fog lamp trim cover, read dome light....

Anything else that people either wish they got or happy that they got it.

I also know my wife will limit after market purchases so even if its a bit more expensive, I'd rather get it at the dealer.

Also,

what are some of the options that the dealer will try to press and your opinions on them. For example, rust proofing. Is this a worthy option from the dealership or should i get it done afterwards. (The dealer hasn't mentioned the price for this yet.)

Thanks, ANY information is MUCH appreciated.

Thanks a lot

One option I got the dealer to put on my car was the auto-dimming/homelink rear view mirror. I had both these options on my last car so I wanted them in this car. The auto dimming feature really works well and is a safety issue in my opinion. My audi also had self dimming side mirrors but those aren't offered on the LGT. The rearview mirror is the most important anyway.

Also, the homelink is great if you don't want to have your garage remote hanging around..........

I have pretty much all the options on my car, and the only one I regret is the center armrest extension.

When extended, it's uncomfortable and it makes it harder to open the middle compartment.

I like the short throw shifter quite a bit. Feels much tighter, sharper.