LegacyGT.com

Ac trouble

I have a legacy 2.2 i have charged the ac up and it works good and quiet but after a few mins of running it,it makes a click sound under the steering wheel or down near the fuse box like a relay or something clicking in and out and it starts blowing warm air then after about 5 sec it clicks again then it starts getting cold again,seems to be clicking in and out every 5 to 10sec.i did put gauges back on it and its charged right where its suposed to be and i even gave it gas and watched the gauge and still sets right where it supposed to be.any help would be great thanks in advance!!!

Take it to a shop, you're obviously not EPA certified.

If the compressor isn't running consistently, you can't get a good pressure reading. You've either over or under filled it and it's tripping a pressure safety.

(Updated 8/22/17)

2005 Outback FMT

Running on Electrons

Being a mechanic I have access to a AC machine but on my personal cars or side jobs I use the 12oz cans all of the time with no issues. I do have a manifold gauge set but if you know how much the system needs its pretty hard to fu@k up. I would suggest if the system was opened to take it to a shop because the system needs to be put under a vacuum.

OP: what are your high and low pressures on your manifold gauges when the compressor is kicked on? It sounds like you have too much Freon in the system and it's seeing a high pressure condition can turning off the compressor.

Hello;

What you are hearing is the A/C cutout relay. There is too much refrigerant in the system! You need to hookup gauges on the hi/lo sides. See if the drier/receiver has a sight glass. There should be some bubbles present in the window! It is normal for the compressor to cycle but not every 5 seconds. Steven.