LegacyGT.com

E85 Tuning Gurus - Please Help

Spec B

So I have been tuning for a few years now and I think I understand the ins and outs of tuning pretty well. I have read up on E85, but it has thrown me a little for a loop when it comes to Maf g/sec vs Fueling.

My mods:

Vf43

Standard Stage 2 gear

X02 FMIC

DW740s

AVO fuel pump

AEM CAI

Using a very solid 93 octane tune, I converted to E85 last weekend. I multiplied my injector scaler (740 cc) by 0.70 and the car started up instantly and is running pretty well. After a few minutes, as expected, my fuel trims went wonky.

- They were at -15% at idle and my WOT runs were way rich from 2500-4500 RPM, 9.8-10.1 AFR vs my 12:1 target.

- At about 5,000-5,500 RPM - redline my injectors just ran out of fuel (I think) in which case they started to go lean (11.7-11.9 afr vs my 11.1 target).

Luckly E85 is pretty knock resistant and that lean mixture is fine. I have added timing (no additional boost yet) and made about 30 more HP on airboys sheet, but I want to address the rich condition at the midrange RPM before doing anything else..

So I am at a cross roads, I think the next step is either increase the injector scaler or rescale the maf. What should I do?!

Some logs:

romraiderlog_20110322_220011.csv

romraiderlog_20110322_230416.csv

• Replies 94
  • Created
  • Last Reply

^ I wasn't sure if the 112% was a result of my injector scaler being about 518cc/min and my ECU "thinking" it was out of fuel or if i really was! I still have not wrapped my head around it frankly. If the ECU thinks the size of the injectors is 518 cc's wouldn;t my IDC show 100%+ even though there is more capacity?

Can't turn down the boost much more..major creep in the cold. Should be fine for the summer months.

EDIT: oops...meant 518 cc

I would do the following in this order: