LegacyGT.com

Moving to Queens

RJS5689

I'm looking at moving to Queens with a few friends within the next few weeks. I was born and raised in Westchester and never lived in any of the boroughs. I really like parts of Brooklyn as well, but the commute from Brooklyn to Westchester for work would be a huge pain (I'm a recent college graduate looking for work in the city, so my job in Westchester is temporary).

While my sister was in law school she lived in Fresh Meadows, but I don't want to be that deep into Queens. I'd prefer a shorter commute into the city and an easier drive to Westchester. We've been considering neighborhoods like Astoria, Sunnyside, Kew Gardens, Forest Hills and Elmhurst. Can any locals give me some more advice on conveniently located neighborhoods that are also fairly safe? We're not looking for the most ravenous nightlife or the most action; we want something that gives us easy access to public transit (one roommate goes to Fordham University and the other will be working in Mantahhan most likely) and also provides me with easy highway access to get up to Westchester for work (and to see my family who all live in Southern Westchester). Any advice/input on Queens neighborhoods is welcomed!

My daily commute would involve either the Triboro Bridge (RFK) or the Whitestone Bridge depending on which route I take and where in Queens I move to. Do any locals have a good route to avoid the bridge toll in at least one direction. I have a friend in the Bronx who manages to avoid the toll, but I'm not quite sure how he does it. If it's feasible, I'd probably like to bypass the toll on my way home from work.