LegacyGT.com

Installation of iPOD on FM Modulator

frantic

Hi - based on posts in this forum I decided to have an FM modulator installed on my new '05 Outback 3.0. Here's some of the details (note that I'm not technically oreinted).

- Found a auto stereo dealer who claimed that they've installed a half dozen per week. Seemed very knowledgable. I called about 5 or so here in the bay area and I got blank stares from some. I went with Auto Symphony in San Francisco

- They immediately recommended an FM Modulator ($50) given that my stereo has no audio input. The installation was fairly straightforward except that they had to splice into the antenna. They wanted to avoid touching the radio to preserve the warranty. They tried to find adaptors for the antenna and were told that none are available

- They also installed power for the ipod via Belkins power unit connected behind the dash

- Finally they installed a switch (on side panel by my right leg)

- Cost for ipod install $250

Here's how it works:

- a line from the modulator connects to the headphone input on the ipod

- a line from Belkin power cord connects to the ipod dock. They did not recommend that the modulator input go into the power dock directly because of engine noise.

- I tune to a preset station

- I flip the switch up (which clears up the static)

Results: Sounds much better than the FM Transmitter. Some static and noise especially when a song first starts (I plan to go back and see what we can do). Volume lower than radio.

BTW, I also installed new speakers in the front (Concept 6 in speakers). The front factory speakers had a paper cone and a smaller magnet). Sounds great.

Well, I found the best solution was to use the dock connector for audio but not power. The iPod's headphone jack has a fair amount of distortion at the levels required for true line-level and will not sound the best. The line-out in the dock connector is a lot clearer and has higher power.