LegacyGT.com

Just picked up a 97 gt. Issues?

Hey everyone! I'm new to subarus and the forum. I got a clean 97 gt for $3600, 170k. First trip I took was about 60 miles highway, and I got about 28mpg. Since then I have done an oil change, new air filter, and new tires. I also opened up the airbox a little bit. I am now getting about 17mpg. What could cause it to drop so quickly? Any ideas of where I should start looking? MAF? Oxygen sensor?

Thanks!

It's something I've done to my cars for years, just cutting the plastic on the airbox below the filter. It's like putting an intake on, just let's air flow through the filter easier. The box is closed and all the air still passes through the filter.

get some aluminum tubing the flexable kind it looks very thin and has ring like design u can find it at a hardware store, cut a hole in the bottom of your air bow below the filter and run the tubing in front of your wheel well to pick up some cold air! but dont put it where it can suck dirt!

Thats pretty much what I did, plus enlarging the intake hole about 1/2" all the way around.. Can't get pics up until tomorrow, my girl has the camera. I stopped by the junkyard today, all I found was 2.2 intakes, everything else was picked clean. Would a 2.2 intake work? It looks a tiny bit different.

Are you comparing a 60 mile highway trip to another 60 mile highway trip? I get 28 mpg, all highway, but only 18 when the majority of the tank is back and forth to work.

The new tires may have a higher rolling resistance, too.

'15 FB25

Magnatec 0W-20 + FU filter (70,517 miles)

RSB, Fr. Strut Bar, Tint, STI BBS, LED er'where

Okay,

Do you have any idea how much time and money is spent on the R&D of a vehicle? Did you ever stop and think that someone at the factory may have spent more than an hour designing and testing the air box to make sure it performed the best it could under most circumstances encountered buy the average and not so average driver?