LegacyGT.com

Help

so i just purchased a 92 legacy L for $100 and it won't start, cranks good, has good compression, and good spark, no sucktion at the throttle body so all i can think is somehow or another the timing is 180' off causing it to fire at the wrong time so on and so on, this is my first time dealing with a subie so i am in the dark. i am thinking i am going to tear the front of the motor off and see if the timing is off, any help or suggestions would help tremendously thanks in advance for the help ill get some pics up later of it if you really want to see it lol.

I would make sure fuel is getting to the throttle body first before tearing off the front. After that then I would go into the front and check out the timing belt.
BE committed to DO what it takes to HAVE more of what you want in your life!!!

That's a nice find for $100.

By the way, the fuel doesn't travel to the throttle body. That's only in TBI injected motors like the ones from early 90's GM and Ford. Fuel on the Subie comes from twin fuel rails mounted in the intake manifold near the ports of the cylinder heads (Hence Multi Port Fuel Injection).

Anyway, check for vacuum leaks. If there is no vacuum at the throttle body there might be one somewhere. It would have to be a giant one to prevent any suction at the throttle body though... We're talking a massive gaping hole. Even with a vacuum leak the engine should still pop, sputter, and fire a little bit.

Any videos?