LegacyGT.com

300hp Target for my 1997LGT

I now own another Legacy but this one has 260xxxkm and lacks power a bit the clutch is weak and I have a few bucks to play with and some time to do it. I am lookin for some advice on a direct fit 300hp power plant. I dont want to get into a huge mess of wiring unless your gonna come help.

Here is my ride its getting a paint job in the spring something with a little more flash as thats what I do for a living (bodyman)1219308971_myjunk008.thumb.jpg.059cd9ad221e559c6f1651a0409960cd.jpg[/ATTACH]

1999243644_myjunk007.thumb.jpg.e782ab3bec27bd9caf903cf7e48f7814.jpg

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Sorry to burst your bubble legman, but there's no way you're going to get 300 hp out of any 4 cylinder boxer engine with out doing some wiring.

If you want anything over 200 N/A horsepower you're going to have to run a standalone ECU. And if you want to go turbo you're going to have to run a stand alone or splice in an ECU form a WRX/STi no matter what.

my old gt had an ej22t which was nice I wouldnt mind going that direction again..ok how complicated is this gonna get I am not great at wiring or reading wiring diagrams..and yes if you have questions about body work I am all ears.

is the ej22t the best option if so what year of an engine am I looking for to best suit my need..remember 300 is the target. How would you do it

The EJ22 turbo motor or perfect for an easy 300 HP target. Find one from a 91 to 94 Legacy SS and then find some HLA heads off a 96 GT. After that you'll need to do research into finding a stand alone ECU that you'll be comfortable working with. This is the direction I'm heading this summer when I get my friends 93 Legacy SS.

You're going to want to talk to Subikid about all of this though. He knows a bit more on this particular subject than I.