LegacyGT.com

ticking noise, apparently 'terminal' problem...

Hi, I recently took my car to a dealer to be looked at as the engine is making a 'ticking' noise... They told me that it sounded internal and may need a full engine reco... sh%&$#t was my first thought... anyone able to shine some light on this? Am i being had? Its a 2005 Liberty 3.0r b spec... Cheers

Does not sound good, but I would first inspect camshafts and valves as well as the cam chain and tensioner. If you are lucky it's just the cam chain tensioner that has given up.

Do the sound change when you press the clutch? (Spec B indicates to me that it's the MT gearbox, which is why I ask)

Also check alternator, AC belt tensioners, idler pulleys and crankshaft pulley since they may as well be the problem.

453747.png

I will be getting a second opinion... It doesn't change when I put the clutch in, and I don't think it's to do with the ac belts... I'm not very good with this stuff to be honest... Just really hoping it wasn't what they said it was as it sounded expensive! Dunno if this helps, but it isn't there when I start the car but more comes on after I drive it for a bit... Not liking the sound of it so far :(

I will be getting a second opinion... It doesn't change when I put the clutch in, and I don't think it's to do with the ac belts... I'm not very good with this stuff to be honest... Just really hoping it wasn't what they said it was as it sounded expensive! Dunno if this helps, but it isn't there when I start the car but more comes on after I drive it for a bit... Not liking the sound of it so far :(

Does it make the sound after starting up w/ a warm motor, as opposed to a cold start (eg: car sitting overnight)?

Like others have already said, a little hard to diagnose from the video/audio.

2 of my previous cars had rod knock, the most recent being my '05 Saabaru 9-2X Aero (aka WRX wagon), which I still have and occasionally drive.