LegacyGT.com

Rotor choice for dirt road driving

Ride907

So I'm a newbie to the forum and I get to post now instead of lurking around! In my lurking I have read quite a few opinions on brake rotors, specifically the desirability or lack thereof of slotted/drilled rotors. I have so far not seen any post referring to my situation.

My 97 GT Sedan that I bought a couple of months ago is showing pretty deep grooves on the rear rotors, and spongy pedal feel. I'm thinking of what to do with the rotors and pads. I live in Alaska, and on a dirt road. During the winter months the paved roads get a lot of sand as well. So the brakes and rotors live in a dirty environment pretty much all the time. I'm thinking I might benefit from slotted rotors as a means of keeping the pads surfaces cleaner and maybe saving the rotors from getting grooved out. Specifically I was considering EBC 3GD series with the Green Stuff pads. The car is a daily driver. Stock engine with 4EAT for now, although I will probably do intake/exhaust and a mild cam.

By the way, I plan to do all four brakes along with new fluid and maybe braided lines for the pedal feel.

Anyone have thoughts on this?

• 2 weeks later...

Well, nobody seems to have much knowledge to share or much of an opinion on this issue, so I will close it out by posting some information I got from EBC on the issue. This post is an E-mail I sent to them along with imbedded reply information regarding my questions. Take it for what you will. Comment if you like.

As Follows:

Question about brake pad/rotor choice for my driving condition: I live

in Alaska, and drive my Subaru Legacy in a dirty and cold environment.

Lots of sanded roads and dirt roads up here. The car is a daily driver,

and not driven particularly aggressively or rallied. My stock rear

brake rotors are pretty badly grooved, and in choosing a replacement I

am considering whether I would benefit from a slotted rotor. I am