LegacyGT.com

Turbo elimination?

I run a mobile auto repair company and a customers turbo blew, sounds like a bunch of bbs in a blender at idle. They were planning on selling the car and had a p0011 code, now I'm starting with the turbo and wondering if anyone had ever removed the moving parts inside of it just to cheaply and easily drive the car till able to spend $$$ on rebuilding it or replacing, I have not touched the car in anyway to view the extent of the damage your experiences are much appreciated

Jerry.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I know its silly in a sense so I guess the answer is no! I can not just eliminate the turbo all together, so then I guess ill right that off as an option and start looking for parts, I'm not experienced with turbo setups, but am a very quick learner, I have been working on cars for 5 years just never had the joy of a cheap SUby owner with a blown turbo before, so I don't sound like a complete noob I do know about the banjo bolt filter and have maintained a 97 impreza L and dealt with all positive repairs from the customer into 200,000 miles and continuing. I have all data and that gives me all the instructions I need to replace the parts... I should of guessed since my searches came up with nothing on eliminating the turbo...

The answer would probably be no.. nobody has tried to do that. Rerouting oil and coolant lines to bypass the turbo... and letting the rest of the bits fly into the exhaust/cat.. probably just too much damage. Even replacing the turbo would leave a humongous possibility of metal pieces in the oil that would cause and engine failure shortly after.. just bad bad..

Yes, sell it and buy a 2.5i. lol

When replacing everything you'll want to clean out the pan, replace the oil cooler and oil feed lines. And hope it wasn't run long enough to let the turbo bearing material to wreak havoc to the rod bearings.