LegacyGT.com

cant find any logging system thats MAC friendly

MDKSDMF

sorry for the double post but i just got a cable from ebay and im ready to jump all over this aspect of my car as im brand new to data logging. i had no clue that a program like romraider wasnt mac friendly.

I've been quite successful running a Windows instance inside of a Virtual Machine on my Mac. I have a dedicated Win XP Pro SP3 with (pretty much) only the drivers, files, and Applications needed for working with the car - nice and clean.

In case you aren't familiar with the world of VMs - the general idea is that you run one operating system (in this case, Windows) as if it were an application on the 'host' computer (in this case, Mac). No partitioning or anything crazy involved and if you have a copy of windows available, it can be done for free. Check out VirtualBox (free), VMWare ($), Parallels ($), Qemu (free), etc.

I'd be happy to help anyone who might have questions about it. Perhaps I could even export a VM I already have setup - let me know if you are interested in this and I'll see what work would be required.

Not sure how well this would work out... I have a lot of timeout errors when logging, I think it's just general dodgy Windoze / USB crap. Running Windoze in VM cannot make that any better eh?

At least it costs you nothing to try :)

Obligatory '[URL="http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/2008-gh8-238668.html?t=238668"]build thread[/URL]' Increased capacity to 2.7 liters, still turbo, but no longer need spark plugs.

I run win7 on mac os via parallels. It logs fine in both native windows and virtual windows. It will also read/write roms and run LV.

I tried it mostly for testing purposes and don't feel too comfortable writing roms with this setup. I've had parallels just quit unexpectedly and that could be an issue if in the middle of a write operation.