LegacyGT.com

Prep for oil change

I know this sounds strange, however I'm about to change my oil brand from

Mobil 1 which I have ran in my GT wagon since it was new (now have 160K) and am switching to Royal Purple. Making this change because I have been advised by Brian at BNR Mobil 1 kills turbos.

So the question is do I need to run something through the motor to flush out the Mobil 1 or just drain and add the Royal Purple.

I'm new to having a turbo myself and sis see we're they said Mobil 1 was bad after I changed it and used Mobil one. So I'm going to rotella like a lot are and since it's made for semi engines that have turbos. My question is why the purple? Not saying any things wrong with it just asking is all.

I wouldn't think you would really have to do much to switch but I am going to keep a eye on this. From what I have read on here you should invest in the oil filter for the tubo. I just ordered on and it's cheap insurance to keep it oiled.

well since i bought my lgt .. ive ran rotella t6 5w40 and alot of folks on here run the same .. and never have a issue what so ever... its turbo diesel oil .. i run it all yr around and never a problem ..

ive heard bad stuff about royal purple , but im sure people say shit about rotella lol

I'm not going to make blanket statements about which oils are the best and that others suck, but I wouldn't run Mobil1 5w30 or Royal Purple in my LGT based on some reading and cost.

I have been using Rotella T6 5w40 for many years based on a highly regarded recommendation, as well as Pennzoil Platinum and GC synth in their 5w30. I recently tried Mobil1 5w40 TDT bc it was on the sale rack at Advanced for stupid cheap, and I'll be sending a sample of it to Blackstone for analysis.

I'm not going to make blanket statements about which oils are the best and that others suck, but I wouldn't run Mobil1 5w30 or Royal Purple in my LGT based on some reading and cost.