LegacyGT.com

How can the OCV affect idle?

My idle is a bit lumpy and I want to perfect it. So far new plugs, no vacuum/boost leaks/clean maf. I am debating replacing my ocv's I have a log but at idle they basically are inactive I do not see how they can affect idle? Check out the ocv log let me know if you would advice them being replaced. Thanks!

romraiderlog_eric_20130906_005630.csv

I am a noob when it comes to this but interestingly enough, I have been investigating the same thing this week on my car. My OCVs duty @ idle are both exactly the same ~9.41%. I see these values on your log between time-stamps ~7.5-15s. Other than that, you can see how one of your OCV duty is varying compared to the other which looks pretty much stable (see plot below). There are at most like 10% off. I don't know if this is OK.

FWIW though, both of my OCVs while cruising are only like 2% off at most (see second plot).

On another note, have you tracked your AFR at idle? I've been noticing an interesting behavior where apparently target AFR @ idle is not 14.7 but more like 14.2 which may affect idle a bit. see http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/interesting-afr-behavior-idle-213454.html

ocvdutycycleYOURS.png.df5ff3e936226b7e38e13d758cb3109a.png

ocvdutycycleMINE.png.0d1a3a29718a2de23b7fdccbced84016.png

You can see the RHS OCV is oscillating, it cannot match the LHS OCV.

I'd recommend replacing both OCV's, at a minimum the RHS, or remove and clean both, activating with a 9v battery.

Replacement OCV's are available widely, in AU we source them from Celtic Motorsport and Flatirons.

We havent been able to find filters in AUDM postFL AVCS banjo bolts...

But its mandatory to sort the issue on preFL's. (because the blocked filter can starve the turbo of oil)

Massive thread here:

AVCS VVT angle out of sync diagnosis MY07 GT B

http://legacygt.com/forums/http://www.flickr.com/photos/bigbadbenny/9682658869/