LegacyGT.com

Need help/advice on '05 legacy rear disk brake

So i already replaced the front pads and rotors. No problem at all. Piece of cake but I am no expert. Know enough to do the job.

Anyway as I'm working on the rear disk brake, I ran into a slight problem. I took off the caliper, and found out that the bracket where the pads sit looks (17mm bolts) almost impossible to get to. I thought that it would be the same or similar to the front brakes. I should have looked here first haha.

Anyway, how do you take off the 14mm bolts?

I already search for an answer on a search here but i didn't find what I was looking for. Any advice or link to a Step by step instruction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for looking

Just use a couple long extensions on a 1/4 or 1/2" socket. There is an access hole to get to the top one, which is the hardest to break free. Tap the socket wrench handle with a hammer. It may tak a little muscle, but that should loosen them right up.

If you have an impact driver, it would be a little easier, but I have done all mine by hand.

• Moderators
Just use a couple long extensions on a 1/4 or 1/2" socket. There is an access hole to get to the top one, which is the hardest to break free. Tap the socket wrench handle with a hammer. It may tak a little muscle, but that should loosen them right up.

If you have an impact driver, it would be a little easier, but I have done all mine by hand.

I wouldn't suggest braking loose caliper bolts with a 1/4 ratchet--stick with 3/8 or larger. And yes, extensions and universal joints are your friend :)

"Bullet-proof" your OEM TMIC! <<Buy your kit here>>

Not currently in stock :(

• Moderators
It's not the caliper bolts that I'm having trouble with. It's the bracket that i'm having trouble getting to it to take it off.

Either way--generally you won't want to use a 1/4" ratchet on a 17mm bolt, lol.

Either way--generally you won't want to use a 1/4" ratchet on a 17mm bolt, lol.