LegacyGT.com

Vehicle Speed Sensor V.S.S.

Alright, so I just bought my '06 Subaru Legacy (Auto trans.) yesterday and this is my first time buying a Subaru so I was really excited to buy it. Today though I was traveling down the highway at 50 mph (with numerous potholes) and all of a sudden the ABS and CHECK ENGINE light come on with the CRUISE light flashing on and off. I pull over in to a parking lot and let it idle a bit before turning it off. I turn it on again and the ABS and CRUISE lights are off but the C.E. light is still on. So I manage to get home and I plug my OBDII scanner in and I get "Vehicle Speed Sensor" code, so my stupid thinking was, "okay, no big deal, *erase*" Big mistake, I start the car up and it runs for a second, but when it goes to the idling RPM range, it dies. I start it again but with the gas pedal depressed slightly and I keep the car running. So now changing from Neutral to Reverse or Drive is quite a task. Any suggestions? I really love this car but if it's a lemon I'm not afraid to get in the dealer's face about it. :(

The VSS should not be causing the car to not idle properly. Sounds like there are multiple problems.

The VSS will cause the car to go in limp mode. I assume the following lights are on:

ABS, VDC, Check Engine, and Cruise Control?

I see, well the car was one owner only (a woman) so I figured she kept it good shape or had someone else do it, plus the car was clearly babied so I bought it. Now I'm thinking that she got rid of it because of all these shenanigans.

• I Donated
Well, act as if your battery was disconnected and your map was reset. Does your idle not run lower? I know mine always did in the LGT and still does in the WRX.

It runs slightly lower, but I have never had the car stall out as a result. I have never had to keep the accelerator depressed to get it to idle at all.