LegacyGT.com

Front passenger Speaker Rattle -> Solutions?

WaywardWit

i notice the same rattle... and it drives me NUTS! Im going to look further into the factory sub at this point... maybe other people can chime in and really help cuz im new to this too, but i know what your saying, maybe we can both get an answer to it! haha

I believe the factory sub will do nothing to curb the rattle. I am not aware that it decreases the bass output of the mids.

In fact, I had the same rattle before and after I installed aftermarket speakers (and 3 layers of damping material like Dynamat plus some on the back of the plastic inner door panel). It seemed to go away for a while, but now it is back. I first thought I blew the mid, but it occurs when the stereo is off too. I'll be pulling the door apart again this weekend. If I find a solution, I will post it for you. Annoying

My 08 does this as well (I think from the drivers side though), but only when it's bassy in a particular frequency range and really loud. I installed an aftermarket subwoofer and lowered the bass to the stock speakers and it fixed the problem.

This situation is pretty piss poor on the part of Subaru...

take it in...it's a lack of insulation/deadening material in the door...it has been an issue in some of the LGT's since 05...it's unlikely that it is the speaker itself....

I kid you not..I had the same problem, they told me it was the music i listen to and that I listen too loudly....I brought 4 cd's...and went from car to car and all cars did it... they pulled the door, put dome foam in there, problem solved....

later the armrest extension button began rattling..

in the end i just put really loud exhaust on the car...that fixed all of the rattles

Slide two pieces of sound deadening underneath the slide mech of the armrest extension. Prob solved.