LegacyGT.com

Oil leak on Top of Engine

Hello,

I own a 2007 Legacy 2.5i. I have owned it since new, and the car currently has 82,000 miles on the odometer. I noticed a small oil oil spot beneath where I park and upon looking at the engine, I noticed a small pool of oil underneath the intake manifold behind what I think is the camshaft position sensor. This appears to be dripping down onto sub-frame cross member just rear to the oil pan. I de-grease my engine bay one a year, and I recently cleaned it, which it what made the oil so noticeable. I took a peek under the engine, and I did not notice any weeping from the headgasket, although I am no expert on that. I took a few pictures of the area, so hopefully that will help. The engine is stock, I do regular oil changes, and I haven't had any other engine problems. The antifreeze in the reservoir is clear green. When the engine was running at idle, I did not notice nay active leaks, but I have not checked it while under higher revs (was late last night when I checked) Thanks for taking a look.

897178545_2013-09-27012enh.thumb.jpg.7d3aee66491a885236355948a1acc811.jpg

engine1.thumb.jpg.3cb59fcd917f81c84e7dc640f6cd8f92.jpg

I'm not sure if the 07 SOHC had AVCS, but if so...

I would wrap a paper towel around the oil switching solenoid, and go for a ride. Check it afterwards.

A top side pooling of oil is odd on a n/a. Pretty much has to be a pressurized leak. Only other areas I can think off are oil pressure switch (under altenator), PCV hose/valve, or a split in your crankcase.

What is your oil level at?

I'm not sure if the 07 SOHC had AVCS, but if so...

I would wrap a paper towel around the oil switching solenoid, and go for a ride. Check it afterwards.

A top side pooling of oil is odd on a n/a. Pretty much has to be a pressurized leak. Only other areas I can think off are oil pressure switch (under altenator), PCV hose/valve, or a split in your crankcase.

What is your oil level at?

Hi,