LegacyGT.com

Has anyone ever used Dura-Seal head gasket engine block sealer?

Took my Suby in for 150K maintenance. The mechanic told me my head gasket is leaking. Oil in my coolant. Told me the best thing to do is sell the car before it goes out on me.

I love my Legacy but don't want to be stuck with high cost repairs. What would it cost to repair blown gaskets?

Has anyone ever tired using a sealer to prevent/repair blown gasket? Do these chemicals really work?

My coolant levels are fine so I think I am okay for now. Don't think the mechanic had any reason to lie to me, not like he was selling me to repair the car at his shop.

if they leak is very very minor it may help but my best advice would be to do the repair its a little under 300 dollars for all the parts for a headgasket job unless u decide to replace the timing belt tensioner and idlers and stuff while ur in there, it seems a lot of the times ppl do it all at once

I am by no means a mechanic, nor do I have the tools or set-up to do the repair. I wish.

I did the timing belt at 100k along with the water pump. I've heard HG repairs anywhere from 1500-2k up to $4k.

My concern is will the sealant help seal and prolong the life of my engine? or can these chemicals actually do harm? and are a total farce?

My mother-in-law used some on her Infinity and fours years later she still hasn't blown the gasket like the mechanic said would.

motor is on borrowed time.

$300 in parts for head gaskets. $1700 in labor to remove motor, pull heads, replace gaskets and all other related parts that were removed in process like: oil pump, water pump, all timing belts, idler pulleys and re time the motor. Tons of labor.

I just replaced my motor after 1 single bad valve. $22 part. 6K in extra expenses.

Good luck!