LegacyGT.com

Tail Happy.

Jordan

From what I have heard improved suspension components such as chassis braces/swaybars/strut braces all add toghether to make the car more tail happy. I am a good driver but have minimal track experience and would prefer to learn the limits of my car via understeer than potentialy catastrophic oversteer. Does anybody have any advice as how to add all of these necassary components without having to constantley worry about spinning out? My preference is to make my car handle as well as possible with my stock bilstiens with swift sport springs. Also how can I get some negative camber with my stock suspension besides getting camber bolts which according to the techs at my work wont give me any negative camber?

I did my first track days with a bone stock LGT. I learned quickly that brakes were the weak point of the car and upgraded those first. After that tires and more camber up front with camber bolts. I left the car like that for a year and then did sway bars front and rear to reduce some of the roll. Then modding spiraled out of control :lol: but I kept the car's balance neutral because that is what I prefer as a driver. One of the key adjustable mods for determing suspension balance are springrate and sway bars. I am running larger bars both front and rear and my rear springs are only slightly stiffer than the fronts taking into account the multi-link rear end (STI pink springs).

If you are overdriving the car and go off track, whether you understeer off or oversteer off, it's bad either way. I give the following advice to a lot of people. Don't worry about what the car can do so much. Pay attention to your driving, use smooth inputs, drive as slow as you feel comfortable, and listen to your instructor. Seat time and gaining confidence in your skills and car will make you a faster driver.

Camber bolts gave me about .5 extra degrees of camber. YMMV