LegacyGT.com

pads & rotors

When should you replace pads and rotors? I'm sure it depends on wear&tear but I am at 50k miles and a local shop told me the rears need to go because they are rusty. Quoted me $370,is this legit? Complete noob btw

Thanks

Technically, you don't need to replace the rear brake pads until they are down to 1.5mm of pad material. Your solid rear brake rotors are good until they are worn down to 8.5mm.

Have you ever had your front pads and rotors replaced? Usually those need to be done before the rears. Like you said, brake life will vary a lot depending on how you drive, where you drive, brake pad material, etc. Since your legacy has an automatic transmission, having to have your brakes done at 50k is very possible, if you're still running the original pads and rotors. But I'm suspicious that they said your rears need to be replaced because they're rusty, you don't replace rotors because they get rusty.

In my opinion the price is a little high, especially if it's an independent shop and not a dealership. I honestly think a subaru dealership might charge around the same price and I'd like to think that the OEM pads and rotors are better quality than whatever cheap stuff the independent shop might use.

Well, I did my own rear brakes last summer. Rear OEM rotors and pads costed me $220 from Pape Subaru. Look around for another person- someone might be willing to do the labor for cheaper.

370 just for the REAR pads and rotors? Is that how im reading that?

That looks about spot on for a shop to install with parts (rear only).

You can get front and rear parts only to go with high performance stuff for just over $400...

Thanks for the advice. I actually have to go to the dealership next weekend (got a recall letter in the mail for brake lines) so I will get their thoughts on the situation .

If they do indeed need to be changed and the dealership can do it cheaper (which I doubt) , I will get it done