LegacyGT.com

Engine "Ticking"

So my car has developed a tick, which seems to run exactly in tune with the RPMs. I can only assume then that this happens to be an internal issue. Since I don't have the tools, nor really the time, to check it out myself (and may I add, naught the experience neither), I am going to have this checked out by a shop. I was curious, does this sound like a timing issue? My friend who was listening as well was assuming a bad valve spring. Curious, what do you guys think I could expect for an issue and perhaps a bill?

It isn't very erratic. It seems to stay about the same, pretty close to 1K RPMs. Usually when I fire it up it will immediately jump up to 2K+ and then come back down to the correct range, without stuttering or fluttering. (It used to, but that was when it had the 2.2 ECU and 2.5 motor). My friend with another Legacy said fortunately it doesn't sound like rod knock. I'm still pretty new to car maintenance, so I am not sure myself if it sounds like it or not.

It's more like a ticking noise, that is the best I can describe it. If it helps any, my engine moves a decent bit in the bay vs. my friends engine.

• I Donated

if it jumps around the engine bay compared to your friends Legacy, you have bad motor mounts. Simple fix...and not too expensive either. However it will require a engine support bar or engine picker to do.

Have someone look at your valve clearance about the ticking noise

-broknindarkagain

My Current Project - Click Here

COME AND TAKE IT

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."

• I Donated

For engine mounts, you can use ANY EJ series engine mount.