LegacyGT.com

Foreign object on dipstick

I know I'm new to Subaru's and this forum, so I will start by saying that I first searched for "fuzz on dipstick" and "foreign object on dipstick" and found no results. I also checked the "Here are the similar threads we found" above this posting window, and still no luck.

I just finished changing my oil and drove around the block to warm up the engine for final inspection. When I pulled the oil dipstick, I noticed a fuzzy object on the end (see images below). I know the dipstick was clean when I put it back in when I first checked on the cold engine after the change. Any thoughts about this? I guess I won't drive any more this weekend, and will take it to the dealer on Monday. Has anyone else seen something like this before?

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg313/civexsi/DSC_0171.jpg

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg313/civexsi/DSC_0172.jpg

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg313/civexsi/DSC_0174.jpg

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg313/civexsi/DSC_0176.jpg

hmm, maybe someone checked the oil previously with a piece of paper? and then maybe that paper got snagged in the hole on the dipstick, inserted into the pan, and has been floating around ever since?

hmm, maybe someone checked the oil previously with a piece of paper? and then maybe that paper got snagged in the hole on the dipstick, inserted into the pan, and has been floating around ever since?

sounds like the most plausible idea to me.

unless you used mobil 1 synthetic, which has been found to leave fuzzy deposits on the dipstick.

otherwise, I'd go with the remnants from wiping the stick prior to insertion theories

when we did a pressure test after installing my FMIC, there was a bunch of unexplainable schmegma that flew out of the oil filler tube that looked like this...so weird....couldn't and still can't quite explain it outside of someone humping my oil filler tube at night as I sleep.

so weird.