LegacyGT.com

2.5i v. GT Sedan??

Buster

Hi all. I'm considering purchasing an 05 Legacy and have a couple of questions. Will I regret buying a 2.5i? It seems like most people here are going for the GT. I am currently driving a 98 VW Passat with a busted turbo. The 98 Passats were notorious as the first model year of the B5 Passat for having turbos go bad. I'm a little concerned about getting another turbo, and, in particular, another turbo in a first model year of a car. That's partially why I'm leaning 2.5i...well, that and the huge difference in price. I'm a little gunshy about pushing up to the cost of the GT. And given that I've been driving a car with a busted turbo for about 6 months, I'm thinking the 2.5 will be a HUGE improvement for me... What do you think? If it helps, I'm the kind of person who is really into their car, but I honestly mostly drive in Los Angeles traffic and don't have much opportunity to open it up and do any real sport driving. I need more power than the busted turbo can muster, but I'm not sure if that means I need to step up the the GT. On the other hand, I do love driving and I love cars, and I'm worried that if I get the 2.5, I'll always have GT envy! Thanks!