LegacyGT.com

FMIC/TMIC & battling Heatsoak

Spec B

After switching to a FMIC setup I noticed that the slugishness that I experienced with my Perrin TMIC was still there on the hot days...especially in stop and go or slow (below 30mph) traffic. I tried wrapping the "hotside" of my FMIC pipes in an effor to keep underhood temps down but the problem was still there. In my latest effort to combat this problem I started playing around with the IAT ignition timing compensation tables (essentially reducing the amount of timing pulled based off of IAT) and I have seen/felt some better results.

I am wondering what tuning strategies everyone is using to compensate for a larger TMIC or FMIC and their added cooling ability. Since the air temp is being measured at the intake, is there any other IAT compensations I could "reduce" or is blow-through my only option?

Stock turbo, I am basically stage 2 with a FMIC. AVCS is definately something I woudl like to play with soon..I didn;t realize it might help performance in the heat...hmmm.

It won't help performance in the heat however it will aid spool in turn which would reduce the affects of the higher temps. I generally averaged full boost (18.5psi) between 2500-2700 rpms in 70 degree temps on the stock turbo in 3rd.

Very cool..I am hitting peak about 100-200 rpms later.

Any thoughts on changing the timing IAT comp table? My thinking is that since the FMIC does a better job of cooling the air then the stock TMIC, I could relax the pulling of timing called on in the stock compensation map.

For instance..the stock comp table has more than 2 degrees of timing pulled at and IAT of 104 and almost 4 degrees of timing pulled at and IAT of 140. For reference my IAT gets to 140 after 2-3 minutes of idling in 60 degree weather.

I eliminated all - comp from 104 and cooler and halfed the - comp from 104 up...car feels a little less slugish and no knock. :)

Very cool..I am hitting peak about 100-200 rpms later.