LegacyGT.com

Funny smell when in boost

I got an 05 lgt it's a great car and I love it I have to admit that I am new to the turbo scene but am very handy with a wrench, so what's happening is when I'm in full boost going through the gears on get a funky smell I kinda assumed it's just unburnt fuel but I don't know it may be a boost leak!? Anybody have this issue?

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You won't smell a boost leak - it's just air. Unburnt fuel could be possible, especially if your car is tuned, however, you shouldn't really smell that while moving unless you have a rather large exhaust leak. First thing that actually comes to mind is clutch slip under hard acceleration. Maybe it's not slipping enough to really shoot the RPMs up, but could be just enough to get a little smell going.

How many miles on the car? Mods?

Does it smell like clutch? (You say you're handy with a wrench, I assume you know what burning clutch smells like) Otherwise, if your UP is stock, you have a clogged UP cat, and it's burning the debris on its way into your turbo. Replace that shit, post haste, before it borks your entire engine.

Also, check the passenger side valve cover, if the valve cover is leaking it will drip down onto the UP. When you start boosting, the UP will heat up and start burning off the oil, which can smell funky at times. This is another common problem.

Same with the CV joint boot on the passenger side, if it's torn it will fling grease all over the DP, and in return having burnt grease smell.

My wife's balls are delicious.

I just replaced the clutch this weekend and it is working as it should the smell is like rotten eggs, I looked for an exhaust leak around the cat couldn't find anything and deffinatly doesn't smell like burning oil the car is stock for now. Thanks for all the responses!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk