LegacyGT.com

Dealing With Rust, MacGyver style

I'd appreciate some ideas on some very basic things I could try for dealing with the rust on my car. The wheel well areas are shot on two sides, not so great on the rear section either.

Of course there are also smaller patches of rust along the base of the doors and little spots on the trunk etc.

Here's my question. Besides doing nothing and just living with the rust, what options would I have that wouldn't cost a lot of money or require any power tools?

If I sand the rust off, with simple sandpaper (is that possible?) then what product should I put on there, if any? It really is a "beater" car but if I can make it last a bit longer, then of course I'd like to learn what I can do.

I don't have tools for rivets and sheet metal etc.. and, that's a bit out of my league. My son would prefer that I feed him, with the money we do have. Those darn priorities again, eh? lol

I am by no means an expert on this subject but here is what I would do. I would wire brush the rust as much as I can. Then I would spray with this. If you want to fill the holes in the body you can (and don't care too much how bad it may or may not look) you can always get some sheet metal from Lowes or the Depot. Cut it with snips, paint it and use the O'l JB weld to attach it to your car. You can also get a fiber glass or body filler kit at any auto parts store.

You asked for MacGyver...I may have given you MacGhetto

I am by no means an expert on this subject but here is what I would do. I would wire brush the rust as much as I can. Then I would spray with this. If you want to fill the holes in the body you can (and don't care too much how bad it may or may not look) you can always get some sheet metal from Lowes or the Depot. Cut it with snips, paint it and use the O'l JB weld to attach it to your car. You can also get a fiber glass or body filler kit at any auto parts store.

You asked for MacGyver...I may have given you MacGhetto