LegacyGT.com

I painted my calipers in "cast aluminum" (pics)

mele63

I painted my calipers in "cast aluminum" using VHT caliper/drum spray paint. I didn't want to use red, yellow, or blue. I didn't use black because I wanted them to remain somewhat visible from a distance. My intention was to find a close color match to the original color of the calipers (pre-corrosion & rust). As I was painting them, I was thinking the color might be a little too bright (the cap color from the can was more subdued). In fact the close up pix were taken while the paint was still tacky. It's unlikely that they'll even be that bright again. The pictures of the whole car were taken after driving a few miles. I'm happy with the results; they look like new/clean cast aluminum calipers now.

I'm posting one pic below, this is my first attempt to post an image here. I'll post more if/when I know I'm doing it right.

By the way, while I had the wheels off, I cleaned them up real good and waxed them with wheel wax (inside and outside). It was amazing how much grease/tar was on the inside of the front wheels (probably from undercoating at the facory).

http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/9135/ap71600517wv.jpg

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks for the responses . . .

The aluminum color also goes well with the brushed aluminum accents in the interior of the car (not to mention the remote for my Sirius Starbase, my cell phone, and almost every other electronic device sold today).

wow. that looks great. :thumbup: i'm not a huge fan of colored calipers (unless they say willwood, stoptech or brembo across them. :) ) but that looks great. it's subtle, yet it stands out enough to notice, but it doesn't look cheap, homemade or cheesy.

nice job.

dR

so shiny and clean! I just finished washing mine.. in the oven of the GA summer heat.. and it doesn't look anywhere near that good! mainly cos I dont have my spoiler yet hehe