LegacyGT.com

New Impreza has easy access oil filter...

hmmrdwn

It's great that Subaru made the oil filter on the new Impreza easy access. The oil filter on the n/a 2.5 is a pain to get to. Between removing plastic access panels and reaching between the exhaust pipes, it's a bear.

I'm new to Subaru, so the Legacy 2.5 may be one of few that have difficult to access oil filters, please forgive for my exuberance if that is the case.

The Impreza has the new FB engine while the Legacy still has the EJ engine, and both oil filters are easy to access.

The EE engine also has a top-mounted oil filter, and it may well be a method to cut costs when doing service of the engines in the workshop. If you don't need to lift the vehicle when changing oil and filter then you save time. And there are solutions where you insert a hose through the dipstick (I have seen such a device) and suck out the old oil and then you fill new oil in the engine and while the process is running you swap filter.

453747.png

I'm just wondering if Subaru is bringing back the black oil filter. All the engine bay pictures of the new Impreza have a black oil filter.

Sounds like the black filter is better made.

Thanks for everyone sharing the location of other filters.

If you feel the locatio on the current 2.5 is bad - try changing a filter on the Accord. Changed the oil and filters on both this past weekend. On the Accord, you pretty much have to lean in and put your face on the engine to reach it from the top or - do the same from the bottom, with a side benefit of oil splashing into your face if you do it from the bottom, while also spraying all over the frame cross member.

After that, removing a little plastic on the Legacy really does not seem like a bad deal! :)

Same thing on the 12v mercury sable, but you almost always will burn your wrist on the exhaust if you go in from the top.