LegacyGT.com

loc question

Mr. Ed

ok so i am new to the entire audio upgrade department. I understand the LOC function, but don't know details on what to order....

I assume their are 4 lines, one going to each speaker.

does this mean I need a LOC for each line? I will be running all speakers off of an amp(s)

or a multi LOC unit like the AudioControl units?

I plan on upgrading the door speakers and adding a subwoofer in the trunk.

nothing competitive, just upgraded... from what I have read I'm not impressed with any of the signal processors so that is going to wait for another day.

If you just want to add a subwoofer amp, you may not even need an LOC at all. Many amps have speaker level inputs or can accept speaker level inputs via their RCA jacks (like all the JL amps, for example). If you can avoid an LOC (especially on the subwoofer feed), do so. Passive LOC's degrade bass response. All you need to do is "t-splice" onto the rear speaker wires to feed the subwoofer amp. This can be done at the back of the head unit.

Replacing the front speakers without a processor is probably not the best idea. The Legacy's head unit is equalized for the factory speakers and may not produce good results with aftermarket speakers. If you want to really do it right, get at least a four-channel amp, a good OEM interface processor that can unequalize the factory radio, good front speakers and a subwoofer.

Good luck with your system.

Manville Smith

JL Audio, Inc.

Thanks for the input...I've read alot of your threads researching this. I am planning at least one 4 or five channel amp... addint eh sub, and replacing all factory speakers

I may go ahead and get a signal processor but from what I have read the one I like only does two channels, so I would need two units, one for the the front doors and one for the rears

I'll be using Reference 6022si in the rear doors Ref 6010 componenets in the front

and 1 Kicker SL7 i think....it's a 10" square sub that I am getting.