LegacyGT.com

Wheel experts I need help fixing rub issue

devxtech

Need some help. I went with a Rota G-Force 18x8.5 +48 Offset wheel that is wrapped in a 235/40/18 tire. On the way home from the dealer I noticed I'm getting some rub on the inside against the strut. Between the strut and the tire I have about a bit less than a finger width in the front (Haven't check the back yet). What would need to be done to correct the rub issue as I'm new to the wheel game. Would I need spacers or camber? If spacers, then where can I buy them and for how much? I'm really looking for the safest way to fix this without putting to much excess stress on the wheel bearings etc.

Any help is appreciated as I don't want to drive the car much until I get it corrected.

http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg100/devxtech/Subaru%20Legacy%20GT/IMG_1305.jpg

Stock struts dont have much clearance for wide wheels. ruruoni, since you're on coils you have more clearance.

I dont think camber would solve it since it will tilt the top of the wheel inwards closer to the strut. I think a spacer would be the easiest option rather than getting smaller diameter tires. I remember VXCL had barely any clearance on his 18x8, +48 with 235/40/18 and he had Bilstein's as well.

hmmm.. its rubbing on the strut? Thats weired. I'm on 18x9.5 +33 on 255's and I have a bunch of clearance with the strut but the fender is another issue...

Well I'll start off by saying I believe it is rubbing on the strut and appears to only happen when turning. At a glance I didn't see any wear patterns on the inside of the wheel well or fenders. I'm still on the stock suspension setup for the '08 Spec.B and I've had a lot of people tell me that this wheel/tire setup should fit with no rub issues. So I'm a bit baffled as to what is going on. On that same note I'm an amateur to knowing about cars so I might not be describing everything all that well.