LegacyGT.com

Outback XT v Forester XT?

I've been driving a 2005 Legacy GT Ltd 5M since early summer 2004 as our only car, really like it, but for various reasons we now need something with more cargo room (as well as something we'll feel less bad allowing a wet Labrador retrieve to jump in). Would appreciate comments regarding the Outback XT v. Forester XT, both 5M. I'd like as much performance as I can get, initially w/o mods though maybe some un-drastic ones later. Is the 20hp difference significant? Normally I'd think it would be, except that I've been hearing/reading so much about the surprisingly strong performance of the Forester. What do you all think?

I looked at both but I went with the OBXT in 5EAT. I have a 110 pound choc lab. He does OK in the back plus I have the rubber mats. He does even better with the rear seats down.

I liked the OBXT better styling wise but the FXT is quick. I dont remember the times but the FXT is a tad bit faster 0-60 but from there the OBXT pulls away up to 120.

The ground clearance of the XT is great. Many miles this winter were driven on washboard roads around Southpark Co in deep snow. Hwy performance is OK but a little swishy at speed. That's the price you pay for the off road performance.

We have an OBXT Ltd (auto) and recently rented a base Forester for a week while in Kauai. When I bought the OBXT, I briefly looked at the Forester, but didn't get past the cheapness of the front compartment (compared to the OB), so never compared cargo space.

With the rental, we spent a week loading our kid's stroller and misc stuff in the back with the kid in his carrier in the rear seat. The Forester's usable space felt noticably smaller than the OB's. The depth of the hatch area seemed smaller while the vertical space didn't seem any larger than the OB's (we previously had a '99 CR-V, and was expecting comparable space, but it just didn't seem like it was there).