LegacyGT.com

me again....05LGT shop list(pic)

Here is a pic of my repair quote. Just wondering if I'm on track here. I'm new to my area so I'm trying out my first mechanic. Hopefully these guys are honest and knowledgeable.

They recommend doing all these things ALONG with the timing belt. So the only thing it needs is that driver's side boot (i understand that), and one of the idler rollers are almost fried(the main issue). He thinks the timing belt is good but is this a risk I should take? He repeatedly told me he didn't want to sell me a belt I don't need.

All the other things are repairs he said we "might as well do". Which I understand, but I'm unsure if it should be this extensive.

Shed some light mechanics. I'm just trying to learn what I can about these cars.

Oh one more thing. He said he quoted me for the "beefier" parts because if I'm going to mod, it's slightly cheaper insurance.

I will go turbo back exhaust and stage 2 tune MAX so can I save some pennies by just going OEM?

Thanks!

140k mileage

No maintenance records I can find.

TOTAL: ~$1,400 :(

2013-01-11_11-51-27_141_crop.thumb.jpg.7c01d2aefe170fed9518a0f5d06b45a6.jpg

That's a bit high.

I think the Gates timing belt kit is like $350 and has most of the parts in it.

If he's talking using better parts, he's using the Gates kit in most cases.

But they also say that Gates makes the OEM kit.

I think most timing belt jobs are around a $1000 or less.

Where do you live ? may be we can send you to someone.

The cam seals are a big job so may be that's where the some of the labor is.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here