LegacyGT.com

What would you do and what does your Legacy GT cost to maintain?

zdw1116

Hows it goin folks I am brand new to the forum and looking for some info and opinions. Straight to the point, I just graduated college, I have debt, I have little money, but I own a $10000 Wrangler. With that being said, I'm aware all cars cost money to maintain and keep running well. So in my position I am deeply considering selling my Jeep for its street value because I won't have any money to fix it if/when it breaks. With the money I sell the Jeep for I plan to buy an automatic 98 Legacy GT wagon from my buddy in town who is a mechanic.

Specs on the GT:

145k on the odo

Some rust driver rear quarter

2.5 Engine came from a donor GT with rear body damage and has:

-Head Gaskets replaced

-Timing belt changed

-New water pump

I drove it today and noticed shuddering under braking. He looked around and said he'd probably do the pads and rotors front and rear.

So, I am not a mechanic or anywhere near but I've done my research and it seems that the HG, timing belt, and water pump are the must-fixes on these cars. So, does it seem like a solid deal/idea for $2500? With the cash i have left over from the Jeep sale, I pretty much expect to be able to keep this Legacy going for a LONG time. Am i right or are my assumptions based in ignorance?

Sorry this is a bit of a scrambled post but any feedback would be MUCH appreciated!!!

Zach

Zach, you're buying a Suby from a friend who is also a mechanic but you're asking questions here which, imho, he ought to be able answer you right where you're at, no?

Anyway, 145k on the body and donor engine with how many miles? Critical elements have been changed and brakes about to be as well, right? How is the tranny?

If you don't trust your friend, take the car do a Subaru shop and have them take a look see......