LegacyGT.com

Car accelerates on its own?

Sometimes.. and Im not sure how to do this on purpose, when in first gear, I will just want to get the car moving, as in edging up a bit from a full stop. So I just give it a lil bit of gas, and then go for the braek. as I'm about to push on the break, the car keeps goin, even accelerating, as if I was still pushing on the gas! Can someone explain this to me? Also, Im a computer programmer, not a mechanic, so if it could be dumbed-down-as-possible that would be great. Thanks.

Ah yes.. forgot to mention, it does seem to happen more when going uphill just like SuperCleanLGT said when going up his driveway. This is downright dangerous isnt it?? Is it a manual trans thing or just another loveable Subaru quirk? :-)

Yup, gotta disengage the clutch in 1st gear around turns because the e-throttle "sticks." Just another potentially deadly issue Subaru never cared to fix in our surging, bucking, stuttering, stumbling cash pits.

I really doubt that there is some inherent property of DBW that makes it suck.

However I do suspect that the tables that determine how DBW works are making it suck.

Real soon now I'm going to get off my ass and test this theory.

Here's the table that I think is causing the problem. This is from a modified ROM, but IIRC the unmodified table is pretty much the same. I don't have the stock ROM handy right now though so you'll just have to take my word for it. Or better yet, get yourself EcuFlash, RomRaider, and a Tactrix cable, and see for yourself. :)

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z151/Legacy_NSFW/RequestedTorque.png

Notes:

The 'requested torque' value has arbitrary units. It ranges from 0 to 400, but it would be just as meaningful to divide those values by four and show them as 0-100%.

(I think in my stock ROM the values range from 0-320, but again I don't have it handy.)

There's a second table that maps 'requested torque' to 'throttle plate angle,' it's also got RPM as a vertical axis.