LegacyGT.com

Poor performance in snow and ice

OK, this is my first AWD vehicle, so I don't have much for a point of reference. I've only previously owned 1 front wheel drive Nissan Sentra and 2 Honda Accords. I've also driven a 4 wheel drive truck for a month in moderate snow and ice. I've lived in MN my whole life, and have driven through 16 winters, so I have some experience in this department.

We've had very bad road conditions here in the arctic tundra for a few weeks now. So far, I'm severely disappointed in the performance. Honestly, I don't feel safe at all; my previous vehicles (which were by no means good winter cars) performed better than this to my recollection. I fish-tail like crazy, while seemingly nobody else in non-AWD vehicles have the same issue navigating the same turns. When I park on the street where the snow is not quite plowed to the curb, I can barely get out of my parking spot. I've almost slid into near-by parked cars several times trying to get out (and I know how to gently nudge a car out of this situation having lived in the city for many years).

What is going on here? It definitely eats gas like the AWD is working, but I don't seem to be getting any of the benefits. Before the snow hit, I seemed to get very good handling on dry pavement. The tires are brand new Yokohamas.

I'm going to take it in as I have some warranty left, but has anyone else experienced similar issues?

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply
OK, this is my first AWD vehicle, so I don't have much for a point of reference. I've only previously owned 1 front wheel drive Nissan Sentra and 2 Honda Accords. I've also driven a 4 wheel drive truck for a month in moderate snow and ice. I've lived in MN my whole life, and have driven through 16 winters, so I have some experience in this department.