LegacyGT.com

Maintenance to regain performance?

• I Donated Too
Hey guys, subie + turbo noob here. What kind of maintenance can I do to regain lost performance? My two day new subie is an 08 with 70k miles, and I feel like it's just slightly less powerful than I would have expected. I used to own a Toyota matrix and there were things like cleaning/replacing the air filter, cleaning the MAF sensor, resetting the computer, and using fuel additives/cleaners that I did every year or so that seemed to help with lost performance. Or are there easy things that I could do to improve performance, if I'm incorrectly assuming that it's "lost" performance? Thanks for any help, I'm completely new to subies and turbos, but really want to jump in with both feet.

• I Donated Too
Thanks, I'll read over that again. I was just looking for someone to advise me on specifically the stuff I talked about in my post. I couldn't find this type of maintenance and troubleshooting advice by searching and browsing. Noob problem I guess

• I Donated Too
That's good to know. I put in a K&N drop in this weekend, and cleaned the MAF sensor, it felt like it was breathing easier. The dirty filter was nasty and had dried leaves... I always put gas in at costco, they're about .30$ cheaper for 93 gas, they only carry 89 and 93. Guess I have to man up and buy the Cobb AP...

• I Donated Too
For me the MAF was an easy clean. It's located right on top of the stock airbox, with a plug and two screws. Unplug it, undo the screws, and make sure you're careful with it. I cleaned it using an electronic parts cleaner (I'm a computer guy) that i sprayed on, and rubbed the bulb gently with a q-tip. Sprayed it again, let it air dry, and reinstalled it. That, with the K&N hiflow drop in, seemed to make a small difference.

costco gas is about as good as putting cow feces in your tank.