LegacyGT.com

Do I need to tune?

kraziedomo

Sorry in advance if this was covered somewhere else I searched first and found nothing. Second apology is cause im a newbie....:)

Just picked up a 06 LGT 5 speed. Ordered a k&n typhoon short ram intake for mainly the sound. My old car was never tuned but I read on here that I should get it professionlly tuned before and after I install the intake. Is this necessary? Im not a big racer or anything, just love mashing it on the freeway here and there.

Any help and advice would be appreciated. Lovin this car though, just dont wanna mess it up

Sent from my SGH-T889 using Tapatalk 2

I wouldn't spend the money on a tune personally for just that. Instead, I'd do a little research, buy a vag com cable for $15, download a mickeyd stage 1 base map and find someone who can give you the maf scaling for the k&n intake and copy it to your rom. If you're uncomfortable with all that, ask locally for help or just get pay for the tune.

Welcome to the forums. If you click on my signature and scroll down to the tuning faq it will probably answer a decent amount of your questions. Nice to have another local on the boards.

Dave

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Providing unmatched customer service and a Premium level of Dyno/E-tuning to the Community

cryotuneperformance@yahoo.com

facebook.com/cryotuneperformance.

So it seems most say an intake won't give you any gains unless running a larger turbo where it might start becoming a restriction.

How is this true if putting an intake on leans the afr? In most cases when things get leaned out from a breather mod that is because the mod free'd up a restriction and needs more fuel for the added power no?

WWW.MODDICTION.COM

Moddiction Stainless steel and Titanium shift knobs.

Drivetrain, suspension, brakes, exhaust, cooling, fuel, gauges+MUCH more!

running lean is a bad way to make power, and you can make power this way