LegacyGT.com

Going to a track this weekend, looking for tips/advice

So there's a driving school and open track 2 day event i'm heading to this weekend. I'm a noob at this, so is there any advice from people that have done some go-fast on a track in their GT?

Off the top of my head:

It's usually hard to shift into first, is it just a matter of rev-matching better? Anyone mess with tire pressure? Any problems encountered while on the track?

i think hes talking about blipping the throttle to increase rpm when he down shifts into first

Yes, matching engine speed for the gear to wheel speed.

I was playing with it a little while ago, and when the engine speed is right, it pops right into 1st. I guess it will depend on the track whether I need 1st much.

Check your oil a lot. Bring a lot of oil. Subaruys burn massive amounts on the track. Seriously, bring 3 quarts.

Check your wheel lug torque after every session

Raise your tire pressure a bit

You won't ever need 1st after starting.

Focus on your line before shifting.

If you get sideways, the legacy is extremely easy to control if you don't panic. You will go sideways at least once in the rain. Calm countersteer, don't lift throttle (if you lifted a bit befoire, give it a bit more).

Change your brake fluid.

If you can source some track pads by then, do it. I like carbotech XP10s. I'm 99% sure they ahve some in stock if you call tommorow. You may ahve to pay extra for shipping.

If you can't get track pads, watch your brakes. And bring a back up set of pads.

An AWD car doesn't handl like a RWD car. For example, compared to an RX-8 you cannot enter a corner as fast. However, you can get on the power much much sooner.

Check your mirrors and wave people buy.

. . . . evne if it is some douchebag in his mom's station wagon

Smooth. . . .

Late apex.

Brake in a straight line. For now.

Good tires.

Brakes are the most important part of the car.

Listen to your instructor.