LegacyGT.com

Need to replace R/F Lower ball joint

Howdy y'all,

I have just been informed by the guys that rotated my tires that I have an R/F lower ball joint that needs to be replaced. I have no garage, a fairly limited set of tools, and some mechanical knowledge but i'm not a pro. Firestone quoted me $270 to fix it, or I could get the part for $23 and try to fix it myself. Is this a difficult task? I think I might be able to pull it off if I buy a large floor jack. Will I need to remove the shroud in the wheel well to replace the part? Greatly appreciate any input! Cheers -the pizza

Its not that its hard to get at. Its hard to separate the hub from the control arm after years of sand and salt exposure.

You really dont need any special tools except a pickle fork. Its like a giant prybar you place between hub and control arm to get them apart. Use a lot of PB Blaster to make sure you dont snap the pinch bolt off in the hub.

You wont have to take anything off to get to it except the wheel.

$270 is a good price. PAY the man.

This is a PITA job on these cars. the punch bolt will break off, or you'll crack the spindle.

A new OEM spindle is like $120. If I DIY, I recomend buying one for when you break yours.

I've been down this path with both ball joints.

Pay the man.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

I just helped a buddy do LCA bushings and we had to pop the ball joint out. That just required a 4 ft pry bar and some basic tools. The pinch bolt came right out and this car came from several Vermont winters. I will say that the castle nut was severely oxidized.

it didn't seem terrible, are we talking about the same ball joint? I know Max knows his stuff so if he says so, maybe it's worth considering!

Updated parts list since original part-out here.

Original Full part-out of my LGT HERE!